Skip to content

Red Bull juniors confirm 2022 plans; five to race in F2

Red Bull juniors confirm 2022 plans; five to race in F2

Red Bull have announced where their junior drivers will be racing in 2022, with five of their youth products taking to the grid in Formula 2.

A total of 12 young drivers will compete under the Red Bull programme in junior series in 2022, in the hope of developing even more talent that can step up to Formula 1 – with seven of the 20 drivers on the 2022 grid having risen through Red Bull’s youth ranks in the past [Alex Albon, Pierre Gasly, Daniel Ricciardo, Carlos Sainz, Yuki Tsunoda, Max Verstappen and Sebastian Vettel].

In their current group though, five Red Bull products will be jostling for supremacy in Formula 2, hoping to catch the eye of Helmut Marko and earn themselves an F1 drive in 2023.

Liam Lawson, who had a busy year in 2021 after competing in F2 and going agonisingly close to winning the DTM title before running for AlphaTauri in the post-season young driver test in Abu Dhabi, will be joined by fellow F2 race winners Jehan Daruvala and Juri Vips, with the latter having tested for the senior Red Bull team in December.

2021 Formula 3 champion Dennis Hauger has been promoted to partner Daruvala at PREMA next season, forming an all-Red Bull pairing in an intriguing line-up, while Ayumu Iwasa will also step up a category from F3.

PREMA team principal Rene Rosin said of the double signing of Hauger and Daruvala: “We are delighted to continue the work we started with Dennis last year in F3, and that led to so many great results.

“We are also proud to work with the Red Bull Junior Team again, and hopefully, we will be able to add more chapters to our successful history together.”

“We have had a great relationship with Jehan when we raced together in FIA F3 and we have deep respect for his skills and work ethics.”

Below F2, plenty of other talents will be making their way in the junior categories, with 17-year-old British driver Jonny Edgar and American Jak Crawford will take part in their second season of Formula 3.


Red Bull junior drivers, 2022

  • Jehan Daruvala (India, 23): Formula 2 [PREMA Racing]
  • Dennis Hauger (Norway, 18): Formula 2 [PREMA Racing]
  • Ayumu Iwasa (Japan, 20): Formula 2 [DAMS]
  • Liam Lawson (New Zealand, 19): Formula 2 [Carlin]
  • Juri Vips (Estonia, 21): Formula 2 [HitechGP]
  • Jonny Edgar (Great Britain, 17): Formula 3 [Trident]
  • Jak Crawford (United States, 16): Formula 3 & F3 Asia [PREMA Racing]
  • Isack Hadjar (France, 17): Formula 3 & F3 Asia [HitechGP]
  • Souta Arao (Japan, 16): French F4 [FFSA Academy]
  • Yuto Nomura (Japan, 16): French F4 [FFSA Academy]
  • Arvid Lindblad (Sweden, 14): F4 [Van Amersfoort]
  • Noel Leon (Mexico, 17): Formula Regional EU [Arden]



The post Red Bull juniors confirm 2022 plans; five to race in F2 appeared first on PlanetF1.

A. F1

via PlanetF1

January 14, 2022 at 11:03PM

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: